Author Topic: Bread baking with the Romertopf clay baker  (Read 205 times)

Offline Jackie Tran

Bread baking with the Romertopf clay baker
« on: October 01, 2010, 11:25:08 AM »
Wanted to show off my first loaf of bread from the Romertopf Clay baker.  These can be found at breadtopia.com.

I first heard of this through member Matthew (thanks Matt!).  I'm fairly new to bread making so decided to get all the help that I can get.   The idea behind baking bread in a clay baker is that it gives an airier lighter loftier bread.   This is achieved by soaking the clay baker in water prior to proofing and baking the bread in it.    The baker is loaded in a cold oven and as the heat rises steam is created from the moisture in the clay baker and bread.  The lid helps trap that steam and the bread puff's up. 

Having tried the alternate method of dumping hot water in a pan to create steam, I found this process easier and yielded a better result.

For this first experimental bake in the Romertopf, I decided not to use the bread recipe included in the materials that came with it.  Instead, I made up a NY dough recipe so that  I could also make a pizza with the dough.   Both the bread and pizza came out fantastic.  I would say this so far has been my best loaf and I would credit much of that to the romertopf clay baker.  The bread looked, smell, and tasted surprisingly very similar to a store bought loaf.

Here are some shots of the bread.   The very last picture shows the crumb of my loaf against a store bought loaf.  My loaf is on the left.

« Last Edit: October 01, 2010, 11:31:41 AM by Jackie Tran »

Offline Jackie Tran

Re: Bread baking with the Romertopf clay baker
« Reply #1 on: October 01, 2010, 11:29:16 AM »
Here's the pizza made with the same dough inspired by Scott R's New Haven style Pie.  I'll post more pictures about the pizza and recipe in the Bosch Experiments thread later.

Offline dmcavanagh

« Reply #2 on: October 01, 2010, 09:07:10 PM »