Author Topic: Problems with my own deep dish  (Read 2309 times)

Offline ChiEE

Problems with my own deep dish
« on: April 07, 2011, 02:42:27 AM »
Hi all,

Seeing as how I'm new to this community I'll just let you know that I'm a fairly inexperienced baker (as I'm sure will become apparent soon) but I have a passion for my home town pizza. That being said, lets get onto the problem.

I've started making deep dish recently (only attempted it about 4-5 times now) and it has gone from being a disaster to being sub-par. After each attempt I recorded what went wrong and what I thought I could do to fix the problem. Some of the earlier issues had to do with the dough being too thick, which I amended by removing some of the yeast in the recipe, or with the sauce being too liquidy when it was cooked with the pizza.

Well after a series of tries to correct the issue with the sauce, where I tried to remove a lot of the liquid from the tomatoes on one try and boiled the sauce on the stove for 30 minutes uncovered on another try, it was still Pizza Soup when it came out.

Ultimately I took the pizza out of the 450 degree oven after 25 minutes of baking and and tried taking some of the liquid out with a small spoon. After that I returned the pizza to the oven but this time at 350-400 for an additional 15 minutes.

The pizza was no longer a liquidy mess, but it just seems like I could avoid the whole problem straight from the get-go by doing something with the sauce.

Here's what I did:
To make Sauce:

Remove tomato skins by boiling them in water for 1 minute and shocking the in a bath of cold water. Chop tomatoes. Heat oil in a large sauce pan (larger than needed) add garlic, onion powder, salt, and tomatoes. Stir and add freshly chopped basil. Bring to a boil and add half a small can of tomato paste. Stir and boil for 30 minutes with top off.

Anyone have any ideas on what I'm doing wrong and what might make a better thicker sauce?