Author Topic: Thinking of starting a pizza restaurant.  (Read 618 times)

Offline Janus

Thinking of starting a pizza restaurant.
« on: August 25, 2014, 08:14:51 AM »
I studied hospitality management after completing high school, worked for 5 years in the industry in both restaurants and hotels, however I've been out for over a decade.  I've always had a passion for food, the idea of opening my own shop has been rattling around in my head for a few years now.  I'm concerned if i don't give it a crack, it might go down as a regret.
I do appreciate how difficult it is to open, run and manage a restaurant profitably though.

So..

Whilst Neapolitan pizza is in my favourite, from a commercial perspective I'm looking for a pizza that's easier to produce, and i'm hoping folks here with some experience can offer thoughts, opinions and/or advice on the direction i'm leaning?

I'm looking for pizza which does not require a high degree of skill and training to produce.  Quality ingredients will be a focus, and implementation of recipe training and systems to hopefully result in consistently good pizza.  I'm looking at a business which i will run, but will not always require my direct supervision to ensure product quality and service are maintained at acceptable levels.
In my head there'd be a skilled person producing the dough, and prepping the ingredients, but the pizza could be made and cooked by regularly trained staff.

1. Conveyor ovens appear to offer the simplest method of cooking, and the greatest consistency without taking into account operator skill?  I've read that conveyor ovens don't reach the temperatures of deck ovens (and obviously not a WFO).  How good a conveyor oven can you get?  ie. max temp, floor temp etc?