Wheat starch is a powder produced by removing the proteins, including gluten, from wheat flour. Wheat starch is used as a thickening agent and stabilizer in gravies and processed foods. It is also used as an ingredient in food sweeteners, such as glucose syrup, malotdextrins and dextrose. While most of the protein is successfully extracted from the flour to produce wheat starch, highly sensitive people may still react to the bit of protein that remains. Also, a few mills may use the same machinery for processing starch and gluten, so additional small amounts of residual gluten can find its way into starch.
People with celiac disease, wheat allergies or wheat intolerance should avoid commercial wheat starch. Wheat starch that is specifically manufactured to comply with the International Gluten-free Standard can safely be consumed, according to Internet Health Library, though this product is costly to produce and is not generally used in widely distributed commercial food products.