Author Topic: In search of the Vietnamese Baguette  (Read 2550 times)

Offline Martino1

• so much to learn
Re: In search of the Vietnamese Baguette
« Reply #60 on: November 20, 2011, 03:53:54 AM »
... and now to something completely different  :chef:
Today my attempt to cook Cao Lau a special noodle dish from the old vietnamese trading town of Hoi An.
Not only is Hoi An in my personal opinion the city with the most beautiful beach in Vietnam and a cute little town with cultural heritage but it also boasts great food.

This is my first attempt to replicate this delicious noodle dish with char siu style roasted pork, chewy noodles, pork broth and lots of herbs and salad. Finished with rice croutons or lean pork skin deep fried. I love the chewiness of the noodles with the fresh herbs and the sweet bbq taste of the pork. Some crispiness is added with those croutons, I used corn chips which tastes similar. There is a broth at the bottom, which make it not like a soup, but very moist.
My attempt was not too bad, though still a bit far away from the real thing. Next week i will head to Hoi An for Teambuilding and will dig into local food there and eventually take 10kg of the special Hoi An noodles home.

Pizza is the only dish perfect for breakfast, lunch, tea, dinner, late night snack ;-)

Offline Jackie Tran

« Reply #61 on: November 21, 2011, 02:09:40 AM »
Martin, you are so lucky to have access to all that wonderful fresh Vietnamese food.  I bet you've had so many of their foods that I haven't even heard about.  Nice job on your pork noodle soup.

Well I'm pleased to report that I have been able to acheive the Vietnamese Baguette.  This is the bread that I have been dreaming of making for a long time, with no idea if it was even possible to achieve in the home oven or not.  This is also the bread that got me into making pizza so I could learn more about dough, fermentation, and baking.