Author Topic: baking temp recommendation  (Read 714 times)

Offline chasenpse

• Battle Hill Media
baking temp recommendation
« on: September 19, 2013, 10:22:16 AM »
Newbie here - I'm in the process of fixing my dough recipe and last night's bake (while tasty) was not what I was looking for. The dough browned on the bottom but the crust remained pale and overall the pie was stiff and flat, not slack like the pizza I've grown up eating...being a native New Yorker it was kind of depressing so I went out to my local pizzeria and bought a slice to make me feel better :D I'm currently baking at 500-550F on a stone set on the bottom of my oven, preheating for at least 30 minutes but something is obviously wrong, just not sure what. Would a lower temp. help with the browning and retention of moisture in my dough?
If Tetris has taught me anything, itís that errors pile up and accomplishments disappear.

scott123

Re: baking temp recommendation
« Reply #1 on: September 19, 2013, 10:36:55 AM »
A lower temp would drive more moisture away and only exacerbate the problem.

If you want good color to the crust along with a proper amount of flop, you need a formula with the right amount of water (about 62% for medium high gluten flour) and, more importantly you need heat- and not just the highest temp your oven will go. You need heat in the form of a hearth material and thickness with superior heat transfer, such as steel.

If your oven goes to 550, then preheat to 550.  And unless you have  a really thin stone (which is pretty much worthless for pizza), you should pre-heat it for at least an hour. If the top isn't baking as fast as the bottom, use the broiler during the bake. In order for the broiler to be effective, the stone has to be placed on a shelf that's no more than 6" from the broiler.  For a floppy crust, the goal should be for a less than 6 minute bake. If you're taking longer than that, you're drying it out.

What recipe are you using? What flour?

Offline chasenpse