Author Topic: Neopolitan Dough sans Caputo  (Read 3598 times)

Offline iamnotanumber

Neopolitan Dough sans Caputo
« on: June 14, 2008, 12:32:49 AM »
Hi Everyone,
I have been making a dough for a few years that I like. It goes something like this...

Genes Classic Pizza Dough

Equipment:
  Large mixing bowl, wire whisk, spatula, blender.
Ingredients:
  10 oz peeled and diced Yukon gold potato
  3 cups water
  1 cup buttermilk
  1/2 cup grape/canola oil
  1/2 tsp active dry yeast
  3 tsp fine sea salt
  5 1/2 cups all purpose unbleached flour

Potato Puree
   Cover the potato with 2 cups of the water and cook medium/low heat 30 minutes.
    Let cool and blend the potato and cooking water together.
Combine
  1 cup potato puree
  1 cup water
  1 cup buttermilk
  1/2 tsp active dry yeast
  3 tsp fine sea salt

Add two cups of the flour. Beat that up into a paste with the whisk.
Drizzle oil while beating with the whisk until the oil emulsifies. The mixture will turn more white and thicken slightly. Sort of like mayonnaise.
Add 3 1/2 cups more flour. Use the spatula to work in the flour. Knead into a smooth dough. If the dough is too sticky to knead add flour 1/4 cup at a time until it becomes workable.
Let rise at @65 overnight. Punch down and knead lightly whenever the dough doubles.

Comments:
  Try not to let it rise past double but it is not a disaster if it does.
  If room temps are much warmer you should refrigerate the dough overnight or you are likely to find it all over the next morning. Yeast loves potato starch.
  If you don't have the patience for overnight rising. Double the amount of the yeast and give the dough three rises. About 4 hours. Not as good as overnight but still tasty.
  There will be extra potato puree. Make another batch of dough or freeze for later use.
  Do not be tempted to substitute olive oil. It has too much flavor to be used in this quantity. At most replace a couple of tablespoons of the oil with olive oil if you like.