Author Topic: Preferment Dough  (Read 781 times)

Offline patdakat345

Preferment Dough
« on: September 12, 2011, 06:39:49 AM »
I have been making pizza for over 20 years and bread for a lot longer. I have many recipes that use a starter.
So I was somewhat confused by the term preferment. So I looked it up in the dictionary and here is the pronunciation and meaning.

pref∑er∑ence   [pref-er-uhns, pref-ruhns]
the act of preferring.
the state of being preferred.
that which is preferred;  choice: His preference is vanilla, not chocolate.
a practical advantage given to one over others.
a prior right or claim, as to payment of dividends or to assets upon dissolution.

Why was this preferred above all others? Then the aha moment. What is really meant is pre-ferment, an entirely different meaning.
I can see why this could happen as a word processor would recognize the spelling and context as correct.
Checked many other sites and could only find one or two that used pre-ferment correctly. The word preferment has taken on a life of it's own.
So that is my senior moment
I like these forums and it's comprehensive and it is apparent that the nicest people on the internet are here.

pat

Offline norma427

• Lifetime Member
  • Global Moderator
    • learningknowledgetomakepizza
Re: Preferment Dough
« Reply #1 on: September 12, 2011, 07:32:24 AM »
I have been making pizza for over 20 years and bread for a lot longer. I have many recipes that use a starter.
So I was somewhat confused by the term preferment. So I looked it up in the dictionary and here is the pronunciation and meaning.

pref∑er∑ence   [pref-er-uhns, pref-ruhns]
the act of preferring.
the state of being preferred.
that which is preferred;  choice: His preference is vanilla, not chocolate.
a practical advantage given to one over others.
a prior right or claim, as to payment of dividends or to assets upon dissolution.