Author Topic: help with yeast  (Read 1480 times)

Offline mooncrickett

help with yeast
« on: March 15, 2010, 04:49:13 PM »
How can you tell if your yeast is too acidic, mine has been in the fridge for about 2mo(sourdo, Italian). and today was the first time i fed it, was a large layer of hooch on top, when mixed it smelled good, slight alcohol smell but good. however I am a baking rookie so i really don't know....
The perfect lover is one who turns into a pizza at 12:00 p.m

Offline mooncrickett

Re: help with yeast
« Reply #1 on: March 16, 2010, 05:14:26 PM »
wow, the help just comes pouring in

Offline Matthew

« Reply #2 on: March 16, 2010, 05:24:39 PM »
How can you tell if your yeast is too acidic, mine has been in the fridge for about 2mo(sourdo, Italian). and today was the first time i fed it, was a large layer of hooch on top, when mixed it smelled good, slight alcohol smell but good. however I am a baking rookie so i really don't know....

What lead you to conclude that it's too acidic?  If you haven't used it in 2 months (presumably since you activated it) then it will likely require more than 1 feeding to activate it.  If it is not fully active by the 3rd feeding then you may want to give it a wash.  BTW, you may want to change your subject to "help with sourdough starter", maybe then you'll get more replies.

Matt

Offline Jackie Tran

« Reply #3 on: March 16, 2010, 05:27:12 PM »
wow, the help just comes pouring in

I wish I knew more about starters to give a better answer than this but sometimes a little is better than nothing right?

Here's what I do know.  Starters can last a really long time in the fridge.  I've heard of people reviving them after months and months of neglect.  This doesn't mean that you should take your starter for granted though.   Even if you are not using it at least once a week, you should feed it.  1 T of flour and a T of water will do.  Just mix it in and back in the fridge is fine.