Author Topic: old harvic pizza oven  (Read 2593 times)

pizzafireman

old harvic pizza oven
« on: March 16, 2005, 08:41:31 AM »
 i bought a counter top harvic(went outta business years ago from what ive been able to find)  it works great,,,temps accurate,,its a double deck and can accomodate 2 16" pies at once,,nice stone cooking surface,,,well seasoned(no sticking involved),,,tried  it at highest setting 700degrees,,,,burnt pizza bottom,in 3 minutes,,not a char but a burn,,,second attempt was at 550 for 6 minutes,,looked underdone so i left in for 2 more minutes and then the it was burning the toppings and the bottom had some slight charring,,,intersting but not there
 also note im a newbie so i was using store bought dough and sauce,,,,i have read everything here and think that i was able to make ny dough(lehmanns) and a decent sauce,,,tough time tracking down ingredients,,but i weighed everything on wifes postal scale
have 2 dough balls proofing in fridge and will follow techs to get them"oven ready"
        question is,,,what would be best way to find out ovens quirks without spending the "rent money" making pies,,,should i start at a 550 and work my way up with temp or go and extend time,,,,,
         thats what im asking,,,,beings how i can hit a high temp thats accurate what would be ideal temp time to bake 16" pie at,,,,need a start point as far as temp time ratio!!! any help would be greatly appreciated

Offline pftaylor

• Life's Short. Get Wood Fired Up!
Re: old harvic pizza oven
« Reply #1 on: March 16, 2005, 09:07:11 AM »
pizzafireman,
Great question. I'm not sure there is a cheap answer to your question. There are members here who have invested in an infra-red temperature gun which shoots a beam at any spot you want to measure. That way you can find out where the hot and cold spots are.