Author Topic: Need some pizza sauce help  (Read 2128 times)

Offline Y-TOWN

Need some pizza sauce help
« on: March 19, 2005, 04:20:24 PM »
I have been making pizza at home for over 20 years. I never can get a decent, consistent sauce. Just did the tomato paste, water, oregano, garlic recipe available on most boards out of desperation.  It was horrid.

Even tried a can of Contadina Pizza sauce adding oregano, garlic power and a little basil today as well. It was worse than the paste mixture.

I've tried the sauce recipes posted on the home page of this forum, they seem to have little taste to me. I tried full red straight from the can and then doctored - both did not have much taste to me.

I guess I'm looking for the typical hint of oregano taste in the sauce but can't seem to get it right.  My sauce is either to little or to much of the oregano taste.

Anyone have a consistent EZ recipe with some taste they are willing to share?

Thanks in advance

Offline dinks

• Supporting Member
  • I Love Pizza!
Re: Need some pizza sauce help
« Reply #1 on: March 19, 2005, 06:13:47 PM »
RKOS:
  Good Evening. I happen to have a recipe known as "NEW YORK STYLE PIZZA SAUCE".
Truthfully I HAVE NOT TRIED IT. IF YOU THINK YOU ARE READY FOR ANYTHING I WOULD POST IT FOR YOUR BENEFIT. IF YOU DO NOT CARE FOR IT I WILL GIVE YOU MY RECIPE IT IS VERY VERY VERY THICK YOU NEED A SPOON TO GET IT OUT OF THE JAR. Enjoy the rest of the day my friend.
  ~DINKS.

Offline Pete-zza

• Lifetime Member
  • Global Moderator
  • Always learning
« Reply #2 on: March 19, 2005, 06:40:58 PM »
Rkos,