Author Topic: Hello !  (Read 542 times)

Offline dasmueller

Hello !
« on: April 15, 2010, 10:19:59 PM »
I am an ex Long Islander living in Wisconsin. I found this site through  the Fresh Loaf and have been very impressed w the information I see exchanged here. As a youngster back in the 60's I would go to a snack bar type place across from high school to get a slice or two at lunch. After high school a friend and I would often stop in at an  Italian rest-Dick and Dora's in Massapequa for a whole pie later in the evening. It was good back then but not so much when I tried to go back.

I have been making my own pizza for about 2 yrs now and it is pretty good but not close to what I see in the pictures posted here. Wow ! I have been using Evan Kleinman's dough recipe  from the March 2002 issue of Fine Cooking. It is from what I can see fairly close to Peter Rineharts recipe in ABED w the exception that it calls for no sugars. I found it to be a bit to wet-maybe my learning curve and needed a bit more salt. Usually I bake in the oven but have played w grilling a bit which I intend to pursue this summer.

Last wk I rcvd 2 pkgs of Caputo pizzeria flour. I made a 1/2 recipe w the sourdough recipe in ABED. I liked how the dough felt when kneading but felt it needed more salt.  Tonight I made a full batch w the above recipe w the exception of following Stan Ginsbergs's of NY Bakers suggestion about hydration being 56-58%. It still appeared to be a bit wet so I ended up a bit short on the hydaration, but the dough had a nice feel to it. Tomorrow we will see.

I understand the whole bakers %, weighing rather than measuring thing w flour and water but when it gets down to yeast, salt, etc. my scale will only measure in 1/4 oz. So I use measurements instead. I feel this is reasonable. Am I wrong ?

I will be in Deer Park Ny next wknd any thoughts on a nearby place for a top notch pizza ?