Author Topic: Drive-In Theatre Pizza  (Read 11546 times)

Offline crazybob

• Mom & Pop
Drive-In Theatre Pizza
« on: May 11, 2010, 01:44:45 PM »
I own a drive-in theatre in central PA, & I want to sell homemade pizza so that the customers won't bring their own. I've been selling my 14" pizza's like crazy for 9.99 (two for 17.99), but I'm making my dough in a 14 cup Hamilton Beach food processor. Yesterday I "won" a used, 20 qt. Hobart mixer on ebay. I will go pick it up probably tomorrow. I know that I should get a 30 qt. or bigger, but this is all I could afford right now. How much flour will this safetly hold. I'm thinking 6lbs? I've been making 18 oz. dough balls. Can I get away with 16 oz.?  ??? I like a crrust thickness somewhere between NY, & American. I'm new to making dough & always learning. My compitition drive-in (about 15 miles away) sells frozen pizza's from Aldi's. Thanks!

Offline pcampbell

• Supporting Member
Re: Drive-In Theatre Pizza
« Reply #1 on: May 11, 2010, 01:54:44 PM »
According to this

https://my.hobartcorp.com/resourcecenter/ProductDocumentation/F-40089.pdf

you can do 9-20 pounds of DOUGH (not flour) depending on hydration and type of flour.

It sounds like you might be right if you are around 57-58 % hydration with high gluten flour - around 6# of flour.

You may be able to squeeze more in if you use a little more water and maybe if you mix it just for a few seconds, and then let it sit to let the water absorb for 20-30 minutes.  For me this keeps the flour from flying everywhere and seems to make an easier job for the mixer. This is what I usually do on my 5 quart and can do up to 2.25# of flour.  But prefer 1.85# as a more comfortable max.

My guess is that the jump from 5 quart to 20 quart is not exactly linear as the 20 quart is a real machine vs the 5 quart a home use product :)

good luck sounds like a lot of fun.
Patrick

Offline crazybob

• Mom & Pop
« Reply #2 on: May 11, 2010, 02:38:43 PM »