Author Topic: Introduction and A Few Homemade Pizza Questions  (Read 2685 times)

Offline PizzaSean

Introduction and A Few Homemade Pizza Questions
« on: August 08, 2010, 06:03:59 PM »
Hey Everyone!

First off a big thanks to all of the people on these forums who are so generous with their info and experiences.  I spent hours on here just yesterday reading about flour and techniques and all sorts of things, and it's a great wealth of info.

Anyway... I'm a north NJ resident with a love for pizza... I appreciate a ton of different styles but if I had to pick just one, I'd probably go with Lombardi's in NY.  Luckily I don't have to pick just one.

I have been making pizza for a little while now, but I've grown very frustrated with using premade doughs.  I've used doughs from local pizza places, trader joe's, and whole foods, but my number one complaint has always been that I can't get the desired thin-ness.  I'm guessing, but I think my ideal TF that I'd like to make would be around .085 or so.  Anyway... the premade doughs, I've tried various things to get them smaller and reform them, but knew very little about the whole process. 

Anyway, I had a pizza making night a month ago and have been a lot happier with my ingredients:  switched to canned San Marzanos (have tried the Cento whole tomatoes as well as the puree kind with a white label that simply say San Marzano at whole foods), fresh mozz, fresh basil, fresh garlic in olive oil, and some pecorino romano.  This was all influenced by the menus I was reading at places like Brooklyn's, Grimaldi's, Lombardi's, etc.  But now I want good dough. 

I'm more than willing to start simple and work my way up to the more sophisticated recipes, processes, and flours, but I'd like some recommendations on where I should start.

-oven maxes out at 550 F
-I use a stone
-I do NOT have a mixer
-I can follow directions meticulously and well, and am more than willing to do a long slow rising process if necessary.