Author Topic: It's Alive  (Read 551 times)

Offline waynesize

It's Alive
« on: January 09, 2016, 11:42:33 AM »
I thought that I had failed, a second time, at making my own starter. So, I ordered the Italian starters from Ed Wood.  Well, after one more feeding, my own seemed to take off.  Nice and active, and smelling nice too!
I guess I will have a wild starter, and some purchased ones too. More fun for me!  I am new to the sourdough game.  Wish me luck.

Wayne

Offline waynesize

Re: It's Alive
« Reply #1 on: January 11, 2016, 06:29:11 PM »
Ordered Thursday evening, and came in the mail today. That was fast.  Need to clean a few jars and get started.

Offline waynesize

« Reply #2 on: January 11, 2016, 11:23:14 PM »
Meanwhile, my homegrown starter seems to be doing okay.

Offline waynesize

« Reply #3 on: January 17, 2016, 12:31:24 PM »
Well, six days later, I'm not seeing as much lift, and it smells like Fritos corn chips.  ???

Offline texmex

« Reply #4 on: January 17, 2016, 12:53:17 PM »
Wayne, I would get a clean jar and take about a tablespoon of your starter and start feeding that one too.  Perhaps discard whats left in the original jar.  Or continue with it since it is a wild starter and you put a lot of time into it. I would be inclined to keep 2 going just to compare.  Even when my starters get funky in the fridge i can revive them by taking a bit and starting a fresh jar .   At the very beginning of getting the starters going they are not that strong or stable.  Then suddenly, they take off. 
Reesa

Offline waynesize

« Reply #5 on: January 17, 2016, 01:38:19 PM »
Thanks, Reesa.  I was thinking of doing that.  I split this starter when it started going pretty good. Have a jar in the fridge. May just take it out and feed it to see what it does.  I am going to start my Ischia tonight, and see how that goes.   It is like Science meets Voodoo!  Makes for a fun kitchen project.  :)

Wayne

Offline waynesize

« Reply #6 on: January 18, 2016, 08:27:53 AM »