Author Topic: Help Creating a Preferment from Existing Recipe  (Read 870 times)

Offline Letterpress Man

Help Creating a Preferment from Existing Recipe
« on: August 19, 2010, 08:10:56 AM »
Okay, complete newbie here so please be kind; that's why I'm posting here. I've been making pizza for 20 years, but my dough can't compare to the local 'Bella Napoli' bakery so I will often just purchase it fresh there. While scouring the internet the last few days I have been reading extensively about preferments (biga) and believe this might be a great help in improving my dough's flavour. But, what is difficult to find is a decent recipe or a website that actually explains how to create a preferment from an existing recipe. I found one sight where they say "it is made with at least 1/3 the water called for in the recipe, double its volume in flour, and a small amount of yeast (about 0.2 percent of the weight of the flour)." So the current recipe I have been using for almost 20 years is as follows:
  • 2 packages of ADY
  • 2 1/2 cups of warm water
  • 1 teaspoon of salt
  • 4 teaspoons of EVOO
  • 7 cups of APF (875 grams)
When I follow the above guidelines for creating a preferment, what I roughly get is this:
  • 3/4 cups of water
  • 1 1/2 cups of APF (187.5 grams)
  • 37.5 grams of yeast???
The amount of the yeast can't be correct. From what I have read it should be 1/8 to 1/4 teaspoons for a preferment. So where am I going wrong? Last night I tried making the preferment using 1 teaspoon of ADY, but I now feel that was too much. Is this preferment usable or should I just pitch it and start fresh. And since there are so many experienced people here, is there someone who can explain a simple way of creating a preferment from an existing recipe?

Offline Bill/SFNM

• Lifetime Member
Re: Help Creating a Preferment from Existing Recipe
« Reply #1 on: August 19, 2010, 08:19:41 AM »