Author Topic: 1st time making Sicilian-Questions-Should I use pie weights or dock dough?  (Read 2831 times)

Offline msgenie516

• I love to cook!
Hi,

I'm a real newbie at this and have never even attempted to make a Sicilian style pie.  I found a recipe for the dough and I'm going to try it today!  From what I have read, I think it is probably best for me to prebake the crust (to help avoid sogginess) but I wanted to know if it is a good idea to line the dough with parchment paper and use pie weights to hold it down while baking, as I have done with regular pie crusts (for cream pies, etc.)?  Also, how long should I prebake the crust?

Also, would it help to dock the dough?

These are probably silly questions but I have never done this before and I would like to have at least a chance that it will turn out decent!

Thanks for any help!   :)  Genie
Happy newbie pizza maker here, still learning!  I use my 22 year old KitchenAid K5SS and am waiting for a brand new Hobart N50.  Recently purchased a "slightly used" one on eBay but it turned out to be a disaster.  Be careful when buying used equipment on eBay. I have learned a good lesson from this.  Also have a Zojirushi bread machine, baking stone, and Super Peel (can't seem to learn to use that the RIGHT way, but working on it).

Offline RoadPizza

• Mozzarella Addict
Re: 1st time making Sicilian-Questions-Should I use pie weights or dock dough?
« Reply #1 on: November 02, 2010, 06:37:42 PM »
I don't think I've heard of anyone ever using pie weights in making Sicilian pizzas.  We dock our Sicilian-style pan pizzas here, but when I make a Sicilian for myself, I'll pre-bake it with the mozzarella on top before adding the sauce, olive oil and parmesan/romano cheese.

We parbake our pan pizzas and use the guideline "until you get a nice blonde color".

Offline Jack

• Pizza; it's what's for dinner, breakfast........
« Reply #2 on: November 03, 2010, 10:43:10 AM »