Author Topic: Charcoal barrel smoker WFO design - is it viable?  (Read 3832 times)

Offline HASassin

Re: Charcoal barrel smoker WFO design - is it viable?
« Reply #20 on: February 04, 2011, 11:19:58 AM »
First; I am not an expert, but I do enjoy thinking out loud.  1.3 hours may have been enough time to correctly heat the dome, but as you have found, heat follows the path of least resistance.  If this were my oven I would find something to get the firewood/coals above the floor just a little.  The heat needs to be able to radiate downward as much as possible. Maybe even as simple as a firebrick on edge with the logs placed across would allow air to flow underneath the coals and produce heating towards the floor. Please hurry up and figure out the problem, so I don't have to on my build (which features much the same floor as yours) ;D

There is no need to buy stainless for an exhaust.  Steel will do perfectly fine.

Just my .02

- Jet

ok ill try that, but doesnt it need to be like a ramp elevation, becuase how will i push the coals back from the front otherwise?  is that what you mean by firebrick on edge?
pizza song
GIMME PIZZZA

Offline HASassin

« Reply #21 on: February 04, 2011, 11:21:44 AM »
I am rooting for you as well Hassasin.  I hope you are able to solve your problems.  I also would like to know why you aren't getting your desired hearth temps.   Is it possible that too much heat is exiting the front?  I would think that vermiculite and firebrick is sufficient for the floor but I have no idea.   How thick is your floor (vermiculite + firebrick)?

Chau

it could be possible that too much is escaping from the front, i havnt actually finished all of my insulation, nor have i made my brick arch yet, there my opening is a good 3 or 4 inches bigger than it should be

also i have like almost 5 inches of vermiculite underneath the firebrick, which are standard size - maybe like 3 ish inches?
pizza song
GIMME PIZZZA

Offline Jet_deck