Author Topic: Not Rocket Science. Just Plain Fun.  (Read 971 times)

Offline BobBill

• Pies since 1972
Not Rocket Science. Just Plain Fun.
« on: January 03, 2011, 07:50:43 AM »
Posted this in another thread, but got to thinking it does apply in general...

Below two basics will work for most pies, with slight alterations, no magic scales needed, just common sense and diligence. I am no pro, but have been doing 40 to 70 or so pies a year since 1975...always learning, always keeping it as simple as possible.

A. Neapolitan. Prep time, 20 Minutes, all purpose flour, bread or 00, stand time 2hrs, rest time 8 hours. (From Chi Trib accounting of Neapolitan dough used by Johnathon Goldsmith at Spacca Napoli, Chgo, IL, USA. One of city's best, if not the best pie parlor. I have eaten at all of the decent ones. And that includes Great Lakes, which is not that good. In fact it is hyped media-driven BS for really bored and boring people, who like to hang in my old neighborhood. (There is not a za in the universe worth a two-hour wait.)

Stone or no stone? Up to you, pan or stone, pie will be fine...but if pan, it is good to lay out dough in pan, prick with fork and bake for 6 minutes or so, remove, add (thin) cheese, and let sit a bit, before adding your preferred toppings. Will seal dough for freezing and let is crisp in pan bake.

As to oven temps...fresh, crank it up to 400 450 pan or stone. If stone, let oven heat for 30 minutes, after it gets to 450 or 500. With pan, ready to go as soon as it gets to preferred temp.

Dough? Bread/all purpose or 00 dough? Up to you. Bread dough works just fine...

Neapolitan Dough Recipe via Chicago Trib piece on Spacca Napoli restaurant and Mr. Goldsmith:

5C flour,
1.75t salt,
1t instant yeast
(Dry Mix with dough hook or by hand)

Using mixer with dough hook on low,

Gradually add 1.75C water, plus 2T cool (65*f)water to dough and mix at low until loose/course ball forms - about 4 minutes.

Let dough rest 5 minutes or so.