Author Topic: Questions about cold fermention and somthing strange  (Read 1247 times)

Pizza01

Questions about cold fermention and somthing strange
« on: March 30, 2011, 08:50:04 PM »
if i want to put my dough in the fridge for 2 days or even 3
using this formula (notice the salt)
100% bf
60%water
1%sugar
1.5% oil
2.5% salt
how much cake yeast needed ?

i made dough today that i wanted to put in the fridge for 3 days i puted into the formula above 0.75cy ( if i puted idy i would put 0.25%) but after only 5 hours the dough at 150% rise, so i think it will go to far even tomorrow.

and the starnge thing that happen is well, i have been making pizza for 5 months now and the bf i used since that has the same expiration date, every time i bought it i look at it and its the same.
well, this week i bought 5kg of bf the same one and it has on it another date which lead me think naturlly this flour is from new harvest. so far so good.
when i made the batch using the same hydration of 60% water it felt like 70%! the dough was very sticy not like before.

can it be that because of the winter the flour would be diferent? the flour with the date before was made before the winter i am sure of that. that is got somthing to do with the absorbtion capability of the flour?
i was very glad that craig showed me the video dealing with very sticky dough, i handle the dough very well with this method.

Offline chickenparm

• Oh No,Not Pizza Again!!!
Re: Questions about cold fermention and somthing strange
« Reply #1 on: March 30, 2011, 09:41:37 PM »
Michael,
Are you for sure,you did not add too much water by mistake?

I have done that before,I wrote down on paper the recipe and wrote the wrong amount of water down.

I ended up with a very sticky dough I had to keep adding bench flour until it was right.When I went back and looked at the paper,I said OHHHH thats why!!
 :-D