Author Topic: Which of these cans do you recommend?  (Read 3254 times)

Offline PapaJon

• "That's amore"
Which of these cans do you recommend?
« on: January 07, 2011, 10:08:56 PM »
I've been making pizza for a couple years now, slowly picking up new items and new tidbits of information and experience to make things better, but just recently I found this sight and my horizons have just widened ten fold.

I've never ventured into making my own sauce and for once I'd like to give it a try.  Should be simple and probably easier to master than dough or baking right?  ;)  Anyways I found this Italian delicatessen/bakery near my work and they seem to have a pretty big choice of canned tomatoes and I'm not sure which to use or if I could any of them, and whether or not the difference in prices actually makes a difference in quality.  I was also unsure as some included basil and others not, and I didn't know if that mattered.

Here's what they also had:
Rega (San Marzano Peeled Tomatoes)  28oz - $3.98
Rega (Peeled Tomatoes - from Organic farming) 28oz - price? (maybe $3.69, I think they were miss placed as the tag right below said La Vella)
Lola (Pomodori Pelati Italiani)  28oz - $2.98
La Valle (San Marzano Peeled Tomatoes, tomatoe puree w/ basil leaf) 28oz - $3.69
Cento (Italian Peeled Tomatoes) 28oz -$3.49
Nina (Italian Peeled Tomatoes, w/ basil leaf) 2lb 3oz - $3.59
6 in 1 All Purpose Ground Tomatoes (w/ added extra heavy puree) 6lb 9oz -$8.98

Alternatively they had:
Cento (can) - Pizza Sauce (Fully prepared) 15oz - $1.89
Ferrara (jar) - Pizza Focaccia Sauce 16oz - $3.89

I have pics of all and can upload them later if anyone is curious.

Thanks!

Jon
Jon

Offline chickenparm

• Oh No,Not Pizza Again!!!
Re: Which of these cans do you recommend?
« Reply #1 on: January 07, 2011, 10:27:42 PM »
You may have to try and taste them all yourself.