Author Topic: creating my staters first time  (Read 5910 times)

Pizza01

creating my staters first time
« on: January 24, 2011, 05:17:11 PM »
i want to start using starter after knowing that there is such a thing.

according to this      http://www.io.com/~sjohn/sour.htm

today its the third day.
but there is no recipe which i dont mix my self with the amount, the recipe said (a) to pour half(b) add half cup water and half flour and... i poured half and add 1 cup water+1 cup flour and today the same.
should i start all over? or is it ok?
first day i poured cup of ap flour and cup of mineral water room temp into plastic jar.
after 24 hour threw half of it and poured into the jar another cup flour and cup water
third day(today) again threw half, poured cup flour and cup water and blend.
today i saw changes theres bubbles and the smell like beer
heres picture from day1,2,3
i am new to this so i need any help and advise i can get.
room temp as between 18cl at night to 20cl at daytime
« Last Edit: January 24, 2011, 05:23:51 PM by msheetrit »

parallei

Re: creating my staters first time
« Reply #1 on: January 24, 2011, 11:06:59 PM »
michael,

I'm no expert, so hopefully others will have something to add.  It sure looks like something is going on!  When I started my culture, I did the following when i feed it (every 12 hours):

- Discard all but one cup

- Feed it 3/4 cup water and 1 cup flour (a bit thicker than yours)

You might find it easier to see how much it is growing in a tall glass container.  I use a Mason Jar. These are used for canning (see photo).  I like them because you can see what is going on.

You said it smelled like beer so I guess it smells pretty good!?  I'd just keep feeding it until it gets fully active.

Paul

Offline Jackie Tran

« Reply #2 on: January 24, 2011, 11:51:09 PM »