Author Topic: Trying to get some answers  (Read 1694 times)

Offline thelistons1

Trying to get some answers
« on: January 25, 2011, 07:44:19 PM »

I am new to the forum, but I have been making pizza at home for a few years. I am trying to perfect my recipe, but I am sort of struggling, any help would be fantastic.

I worked at a Pizza shop for a couple years a while back, and in my opinion they had the best pizza I have ever eaten. I am in the military and I have traveled to just about every state in the US and some overseas, and I have yet to try pizza that even comes close to this specific place in Arizona. Unfortunately I was too young to realize that I should have paid attention to the recipe, plus the owner kept it pretty secret, always making the dough when we were busy with other tasks. I have been trying for years to duplicate the recipe and I am close but still need a few tips.

The biggest issue I am having is trying to achieve an airy inside that is light and full of bubbles with a slightly crispy crust. My crust always has many very small bubbles and a very crispy crust. Chewy on the inside is one other item I am shooting for.

So far Here is my recipe. (This is just for one large pizza)

2 cups King Arthur High Gluten flour 14%
1 table spoon Olive oil
1 Cup water
3 1/2 tablespoons sugar
2 tablespoons salt
2 tablespoons Red Star Active Dry Yeast
2 table spoons Vital Wheat Gluten

I put all the dry ingredients into a bowl minus the sugar and yeast. With the sugar and yeast I put them into a bowl with 1/2 cup of warm water and let them sit for about 15 minutes. I then put the olive oil in another bowl adding the water, yeast, and sugar mixture. I then mix the flour mixture in a little at a time, stir and let sit for a couple minutes, I do this about 3 times until all the flour is mixed. Then I need by hand for about 15-20 minutes. I let it rest on the counter top for about 10 minutes then put it in the fridge for about 24 hours.