Author Topic: Block Parmesan / Parmigiano-Reggiano, how long does it keep, how best to store?  (Read 21482 times)

Offline PapaJon

• "That's amore"
I'm looking at picking up some good quality Parmesan cheese or some Parmigiano-Reggiano, but I'm hesitant as I do not know what the best way to store it is.  My Costco has some for $10.49/lb, but if I buy it there I'm sure it would be more than I could use in a month.  Should I try Whole foods or some place I can buy smaller qty?

Can any experts chime in on how best to handle/store it so that it stays the freshest and keeps the longest?

TIA

P.S. Sorry for the phone camera rotate fail
Jon

Offline BrickStoneOven

• Lifetime Member
I'm not an expert but I have had mine for about 2 months with no signs of mold or anything. I just put all the hard cheese in a zip lock bag, squeeze out as much air as possible and close the bag. The Grana from costco is pretty good as well and thats been in the frig for even longer. That same amount at WF is going to cost a lot more.
« Last Edit: March 01, 2011, 09:44:21 PM by BrickStoneOven »

Offline Mmmph

• Lifetime Member
I wrap it as tightly as I can with cling wrap, then into a ziplock bag, squeezing out the air like BrickStoneOven mentioned.

Months in the fridge is no prob with these dry aged cheeses.
Sono venuto, ho visto, ho mangiato

Offline dmaxdmax

When we get the Kirkland cheese I cut a chunk off the pointy end, slicing clean through the shrink-wrap.  This leaves just one small face of the "stock" exposed while we use the small chunk until it's gone.  Wrap the stock in saran wrap and toss both in a ziploc bag.  It will keep a loooooong time.
Dave
Always make new mistakes.

Offline PapaJon

• "That's amore"