Author Topic: dough trouble-shooting  (Read 1666 times)

Offline Tristan

• I Love Pizza!
dough trouble-shooting
« on: May 06, 2005, 01:31:38 PM »
I'm fairly new to home pizza-making and I've been trying out various dough recipes as I find them, just to find one that works consistently (which I haven't---probably my fault more than the recipe's). I'm not yet working with accurate measurements (just plastic measuring cups and my Pyrex liquid measure) and am still using supermarket yeast and flour. I prefer overnight refrigerator rises since I don't have much time for anything more involved and hands-on. So this recipe from the New York Times, an adaptation of a recipe by Andrew Feinberg of Franny's fame, appealed to me:

1 teaspoons active dry yeast
2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil, more for coating dough
1 tablespoons salt
1 tablespoon sugar
5 cups bread flour.
1. Put 1 cups warm water in a mixing bowl, add yeast and stir until it dissolves. Add oil, salt and sugar, and mix well. Stir in flour. Knead either in mixer using dough hook or by hand on a floured surface, until dough comes together. Cover, and let rest 20 minutes.
 2. Knead dough until it is springy, about 5 minutes in mixer or 10 minutes by hand. Form into a ball, coat with oil and place in a large bowl. Cover with plastic, and refrigerate overnight.
3. Remove dough from refrigerator, and let it come to room temperature (about 4 hours) before proceeding. Press dough down, and knead briefly. Divide into 4 pieces, flatten into disks and cover with cloth towels until ready to use.