Author Topic: Diabetes Friendly Pizza recipes  (Read 4125 times)

Offline mjwdoran

Diabetes Friendly Pizza recipes
« on: March 15, 2011, 10:30:41 AM »
Hi guys,

So I'm new to home pizza making, still learning a lot of things, but I thought I could ask for some general guidance from those who have been at this longer than me.  I'm attempting to learn and adapt pizza recipes with the specific goal of being able to make healthy pizza, appropriate for friends and family who are learning to live with diabetes. 

This means that I'm trying to figure out which dough recipes will adapt well to being made with whole wheat or multi-grain flour and topped with light amounts of cheese and lots of vegetables.  So far I've been mostly trying thin crust recipes, because I was guessing that those would be the most easy to adapt, but I thought I could get the opinions of some of you who may have tried something like this before.

So if you were going to make a whole wheat pizza, which recipe would you work with?

Thanks for the help,

Marcus

Offline dellavecchia

• Lifetime Member
Re: Diabetes Friendly Pizza recipes
« Reply #1 on: March 15, 2011, 10:36:21 AM »
Marcus - Welcome to the forum. A WW pizza is a bit more difficult to make than a white flour one, but not impossible. I have used this thread as a master reference for WW:

http://www.pizzamaking.com/forum/index.php/topic,5682.0.html

It is a long one - just start with the recipe on the first page given by Villa Roma. The hydration is 100% there, but look at some other recipes in the thread for lower levels of water. High hydration can be difficult to work with if you have not done so in the past.

Let us know how things progress. You might want to post your responses directly in the thread referenced above.

John
« Last Edit: March 15, 2011, 10:38:33 AM by dellavecchia »

Offline GuzziJason

« Reply #2 on: March 15, 2011, 11:53:44 AM »