Author Topic: Shaping and final proofing  (Read 1178 times)

Offline ScottG

Shaping and final proofing
« on: March 17, 2011, 11:41:59 PM »
I’ve been making pizza for our weekly family pizza night for the past few months…then I found this site only to realize how much I didn’t know.  (I am getting the terminology down.)

I think I have started understanding bakers percentages (I was going to say it seems like alchemy… but it kind of is....transmuting flour to golden pizza crust.)

I am using a basic Lehmann crust

Flour 100%  (18.7oz) Water 62% (11.6oz) IDY .7% (.5 teaspoon) Salt 4% (1.5 teaspoon) Oil 3% (1 teaspoon)

After kneading my dough I ball it; I place it in tupperware then put it into the refrigerator for a couple of days to cold ferment.

On pizza night, the dough is warmed up to room temperature (2 hours or so).

I shape the pizza. I press the pizza dough until I have about a 12” dough then I hand toss the pizza. (I am not very good at it yet… but the kids think it is pretty cool.)

Next I place it on a semolina dusted peel and dress the pizza.

It feels like I should let the dough proof for another 30 min or so between shaping and cooking…but when I do… then the pizza will stick to the peel.

Granted…I am still learning a lot of technique but it seems like once the pizza (skin?) hits this peel the clock is ticking and the longer you wait the harder it is to get off of the peel.

Do I need to let the crust rise again after shaping? If so, should I do it on the peel? If so… is there some trick to getting it off the peel (like getting better at “microshakes”)?

Offline c0mpl3x

• crumb bubbles!
Re: Shaping and final proofing
« Reply #1 on: March 18, 2011, 12:02:38 AM »