Author Topic: What am I making (style wise)?  (Read 917 times)

Offline Tman1

What am I making (style wise)?
« on: April 02, 2011, 11:38:25 AM »
I'm fairly new to the pizza thing, and made a temporary brick oven last fall. We had a few pizza parties and the pizza's tasted great. HOWEVER, I wasn't very specific to recipes and taste/flavor/crumb at the time. I didn't use a scale, and wasn't flour specific. Now that I've had some time to taste different WFO pizza's, I've become more aware of what I'm eating.

The best pizza I can remember (recently) was one I had at Ladusio's in Boulder, CO just about a month ago. On the very first bite, I thought I was eating a nice bread with some excellent toppings (it was a margherita). It was awesome, made better by the fact it was only $5 (Happy Hour prices).

I'm curious about the style of pizza I've been making. We used a popular recipe found online and all liked the crust. (Of course I was dealing with people who buy their pizza, and most likely never make their own dough, so anything might have been good to them!) By weighing the ingredients now, working backwards, and some guesstimating (we always got 4 dough balls), this is what I came up with in REAL pizza lingo   :chef:
Flour (100%):
Water (42%):
ADY (1.5%):
Salt (.9%):
Olive Oil (2.5%):
Honey (1.25%):
Total (148.15%):
Single Ball:
566.43 g  |  19.98 oz | 1.25 lbs
237.9 g  |  8.39 oz | 0.52 lbs
8.5 g | 0.3 oz | 0.02 lbs | 2.25 tsp | 0.75 tbsp
5.1 g | 0.18 oz | 0.01 lbs | 1.06 tsp | 0.35 tbsp
14.16 g | 0.5 oz | 0.03 lbs | 3.15 tsp | 1.05 tbsp
7.08 g | 0.25 oz | 0.02 lbs | 1.01 tsp | 0.34 tbsp
839.16 g | 29.6 oz | 1.85 lbs | TF = N/A
209.79 g | 7.4 oz | 0.46 lbs

The hydration seems really, really low compared to what I've been reading/seeing in threads. I should note my skills at forming round pizza's are not good (more like footballs).
« Last Edit: April 02, 2011, 11:43:54 AM by Tman1 »

Offline Tman1

Re: What am I making (style wise)?