Author Topic: Newbie here, making first home made Chicago pizza tomorrow  (Read 2535 times)

Offline Dayton Dave

Newbie here, making first home made Chicago pizza tomorrow
« on: March 24, 2011, 10:15:39 PM »
Question, first timer.  I'm using DKM recipe for the pizza.
1. After the dough rises, do I punch it down before putting in the pan?
2. Sauage, fry it first?
3. Can I use already shredded cheese?
Thanks,
Dave

Offline DKM

• Lifetime Member
  • Chicago - Now that's Pizza!
    • The Emperor.net
Re: Newbie here, making first home made Chicago pizza tomorrow
« Reply #1 on: March 24, 2011, 10:43:52 PM »
1. Punching it down will make it harder to pull up the sides.

2. You can, but I don't.

3. You can, just don't under do it.
I'm on too many of these boards

Offline Dayton Dave

« Reply #2 on: March 25, 2011, 10:53:48 AM »
Thanks, I'll let you know how it turns out.
Dave

Offline c0mpl3x

• crumb bubbles!
« Reply #3 on: March 25, 2011, 11:02:56 AM »
i punch down my dough as i press it into my deep dish pans
Hotdogs kill more people than sharks do, yearly.

Offline Dayton Dave

« Reply #4 on: March 26, 2011, 07:39:38 PM »
Well, it turned out great!
One question, could I cut the dough recipe in half and use a 9 inh cake pan?
Another question, I poured the whole can of chopped tomato on the pizza, seemed a little soupy, should I have drained the juice off?
Thanks,
Dave
« Last Edit: March 26, 2011, 07:42:49 PM by Dayton Dave »

Offline DKM

• Lifetime Member
  • Chicago - Now that's Pizza!
    • The Emperor.net
« Reply #5 on: March 26, 2011, 08:08:27 PM »
Well, it turned out great!

Woohoo

One question, could I cut the dough recipe in half and use a 9 inh cake pan?

Use the deep dish dough calculator for best results.
http://www.pizzamaking.com/dd_calculator.html

Another question, I poured the whole can of chopped tomato on the pizza, seemed a little soupy, should I have drained the juice off?

Yes
I'm on too many of these boards

Offline mzimm