Author Topic: Questions about using Sourdough Cultures  (Read 2639 times)

Offline tscaife

Questions about using Sourdough Cultures
« on: April 05, 2011, 08:22:33 PM »
I purchased the Italian sourdough cultures from Sourdoughs International. Does anyone have instructions on how to make dough from the time you take the culture out of the fridge? mine is in liquid form and I have made bread with it in the last week.

How much culture do you use?

How do you determine what hydration you have?

How long do you let it rise in the fridge?

I have searched the forum and can't find anything simple enough to understand. Keep in mind I am new at this and am not the sharpest knife in the drawer :)

Thanks in advance for any direction!

EDIT: Just saw the forum for starters. Sorry!
« Last Edit: April 05, 2011, 08:33:54 PM by tscaife »

Offline matermark

Re: Questions about using Sourdough Cultures
« Reply #1 on: April 05, 2011, 09:28:42 PM »
Most "recipes" use 1 cup but the only Bakers percent type recipe I saw was about 17% combined (they used vinegar & whey to simulate sourdough and the 2 totaled 17% to 100% flour.)

For hydration, use the Preferment Lehman Dough Calculator. Consider sourdough starter a "preferment."

http://www.pizzamaking.com/preferment_calculator.html

Sorry, above link is the one I meant.
« Last Edit: April 05, 2011, 09:38:57 PM by matermark »

Offline TXCraig1

« Reply #2 on: April 06, 2011, 05:55:33 PM »
How long do you let it rise in the fridge?

I would encourage you not to use refrigerated fermentation with sourdough cultures. At least the ones I use seem to slow down to just about zero activity under those conditions.

I can say that I have NEVER made a pizza that I was happy with using refrigerated fermentation and sourdough cultures - even when I take it out and let it come back to life at room temperature and rise up to where I should be for baking.