Author Topic: Whole Wheat Flour vs. White Flour for Starter  (Read 1088 times)

Offline CycloneFlyer

Whole Wheat Flour vs. White Flour for Starter
« on: April 27, 2011, 02:23:34 PM »
Hi Everyone,

I am just beginning to take my pizza making to the next level. I can do the Chicago Style Pretty well, but have not had success with others. Part of that is I didn't have a mixer, which just came in the mail yesterday, so I am trying some new stuff out.

Regarding starters, some things say to use whole wheat flour to begin the starter and then switch to white. Is this necessary?

I started a starter with white flour yesterday evening that is bubbling and looks good today, should I start over with wheat flour? Or just try it and see how it goes.

foolishpoolish

Re: Whole Wheat Flour vs. White Flour for Starter
« Reply #1 on: May 01, 2011, 08:39:36 AM »
Hi Everyone,

I am just beginning to take my pizza making to the next level. I can do the Chicago Style Pretty well, but have not had success with others. Part of that is I didn't have a mixer, which just came in the mail yesterday, so I am trying some new stuff out.

Regarding starters, some things say to use whole wheat flour to begin the starter and then switch to white. Is this necessary?

I started a starter with white flour yesterday evening that is bubbling and looks good today, should I start over with wheat flour? Or just try it and see how it goes.

Three benefits to starting with a whole grain flour:

1) Any "wild" yeast found on the bran and outer layers of the wheat grain would be removed from refined white flours.

2) It's thought that whole grain flours contain minerals which can boost microbiological activity.