Author Topic: Salute from the Oregon Coast - Mangia Mangia!  (Read 334 times)

Offline Pizza Pirate

• Lifetime Member
    • A Posto Personal Chef Services LLC
Salute from the Oregon Coast - Mangia Mangia!
« on: May 20, 2011, 02:45:40 AM »
My name is Bruce Birt, otherwise known as a Pizza Pirate here in Newport Oregon. I love this website and forum participation!!!!!

A few years ago, my wife showed me an article about Pizza Napoletana in her La Cucina Italiana Magazine. It was a moment that forever changed our lives. While I had a love of pizza before, the photos of the wood fired pizzas were a thing of Italian Beauty. From that day forth, I have put my personal passion into making the best homemade pizza.

My wife and I have been cooking together for over twenty years and we recently started a personal chef business here to share our goodies with others around the table. As part of this change, my wife spent seven months in culinary school attending the Italian Culinary Academy in New York and Parma Italy. She spent five months in Italy learning about the twenty regions of Italian Food and Wine, and best of all, enjoying their passion for food around the table.

What is so great about this forum is the willingness to share experiences, ideas, recipes and even successes and failures. While the world is inudated with lots of pizza, artisanal pizza of high quality is hard to find. But I sense a revival is coming back and that artisanal pizza is becoming more important and something to beholden, just like the Neopolitans cherish their own Pizza Napoletana.