Author Topic: How essential is a starter?  (Read 1031 times)

Offline andrewperetti

How essential is a starter?
« on: May 29, 2011, 04:18:51 PM »
To make truly "great" tasting pizza, in your opinion, do you need a sourdough starter?

I know Jeff Versano seems to use one in every attempt...Are all the great pizzerias in Italy using a sourdough starter?

As I'm quite new to the pizza making, does anyone know of an easily replicated sourdough starter recipe that I could try out?

buceriasdon

Re: How essential is a starter?
« Reply #1 on: May 29, 2011, 05:15:43 PM »
Andrew, If you are just starting I highly encourage you to try all manner of dough formulations, I prefer the slow cold rise and low yeast (IDY) option, but there are plenty of folks here that do other things and make wonderful pizza. Your leavening method is just one part of the equation to making excellent pizza.
Don

To make truly "great" tasting pizza, in your opinion, do you need a sourdough starter?

I know Jeff Versano seems to use one in every attempt...Are all the great pizzerias in Italy using a sourdough starter?

As I'm quite new to the pizza making, does anyone know of an easily replicated sourdough starter recipe that I could try out?

Offline chickenparm

• Oh No,Not Pizza Again!!!
« Reply #2 on: May 29, 2011, 11:40:40 PM »
I agree with Don.If you are new to this,like most of us have been at first,best to start with IDY or ADY yeast and learn how to make dough consistently first.Jeff V said it took him over a hundred doughs or more to get where he wanted to be.

You do not need a starter the first time out to make pizza.You can still make very good pies with other forms of yeast.Most Ny style and other pizza places do not use a starter anyway.I am not saying not to learn to make a starter,by all means,go ahead if thats what you wish to do.