Author Topic: Drain the can of crushed tomatoes?  (Read 4826 times)

Offline tjkoko

Drain the can of crushed tomatoes?
« on: June 12, 2011, 09:53:41 AM »
For my pizza sauce (I'm a rank beginner) I will be using a can of Tutto Rosso Crushed Tomatoes.  Should the mixture be drained prior to use?  Is this idea mostly a personal preference or what?
« Last Edit: June 12, 2011, 10:20:25 AM by tjkoko »
Home bread baker for 10 years.

Offline tjkoko

Re: Drain the can of crushed tomatos?
« Reply #1 on: June 12, 2011, 10:19:47 AM »

Offline dmcavanagh

Re: Drain the can of crushed tomatoes?
« Reply #2 on: June 12, 2011, 01:28:52 PM »
For what it's worth, about a year ago I did some taste testing of a variety of canned crushed tomatoes and Tuttorosso were among the absolute worst I tested. They are almost a puree rather than the consistency of normal crushed tomatoes. They are also very dark in color and they have a very nasty taste from the basil that is added. The basil flavor totally overwhelms the tomato flavor. Do yourself a favor and shop around for some better options. An Italian import store is a good place to look. I especially like a brand called "Sclafani", but even Walmarts Great Value tomatoes are far superior to Tuttorosso.

Offline pizzablogger

« Reply #3 on: June 12, 2011, 06:14:08 PM »
It depends on the particular can of tomatoes. You gotta taste every single can.

Many cans of tomatoes, even from quality manufacturers, have a puree which tends to have a slight metallic, or "tinny", note to it. In this instance, I  just pour the entire can of tomatoes through a colander and then rinse the tomatoes with water as well. Then let them sit and drain a bit before making sauce.

Dumping off the puree from a can of whole, caned tomatoes is not an uncommon practice at commercial pizzerias of high repute.
« Last Edit: June 12, 2011, 06:15:55 PM by pizzablogger »
"It's Baltimore, gentlemen, the gods will not save you." --Burrell

Offline dmcavanagh