Author Topic: Dough not uniform.....  (Read 1168 times)

Offline oz

Dough not uniform.....
« on: August 17, 2011, 06:07:27 PM »
Yes, I am very new to this, so be gentle please.

When I watch video's, or see pictures of people taking the dough ball and turning it into a flat surface the dough looks perfect.
When I make my dough and try to do this, there are very uneven parts to my dough.  Sometimes it rips a little hole because the uniformity is not there.

Rough recipe:  1.5 cups water, 1tsp ADY, 3 C flour, 2 tsp salt, 2 tsp sugar, 1 TBS oil.

I have kneaded by hand and I have used a mixer on low settings.  I have kneaded for a short time, and a long time.  I have mixed for a short time, as well as a long time.  I have put in the fridge over night, and I have kept the dough out on the counter.  No matter what my mode of operation is, there is never a consistency to the thickness of the dough.  It doesn't have that impressive look like some of the photos - smooth as silk look.

But.... the taste is getting better each time.  I can't wait to get it in a real oven when the weather changes (wife wants me to do all the cooking on the BBQ). 

So what am I doing wrong (probably a lot), and how can I get the smooth looking dough (if there is a simple explanation)?

Thanks!

Offline The Dough Doctor

• Tom Lehmann
Re: Dough not uniform.....
« Reply #1 on: August 18, 2011, 09:14:35 AM »
Oz;
Part of your problem might have to do with the dough temperature. What is the temperature of the dough immediately after mixing?
We normally look for something in the 80 to 85F range, but this is not hard and fast, so it can vary to some extent.