Author Topic: Flour? Pizza Steel? Knock your socks off Pizza at home?  (Read 192 times)

Offline ironj679

• I Love Pizza!
Flour? Pizza Steel? Knock your socks off Pizza at home?
« on: Yesterday at 01:17:10 PM »
Hey Dough Masters,
I am starting a personal quest to become the best at home pizza maker I can be. I have a pizza steel and I can get the surface to 600 degrees.  I tried a Neapolitan pizza dough (by kenji) and it turned out pretty good, the crust cracked and seemed dry. 

I have sense stumbled upon this very site and found out about Caputo 00 flour.  Should I use this kind of flour instead of bakers flour that I have been using?

Any recipes for Neapolitan or NY dough that would win the hearts of my loved ones that eat my pizza that you would be willing to share?   

Thanks, I know I sound like a total noob.
I am (the dough calculator scares me!)
Thanks!
« Last Edit: Yesterday at 01:20:45 PM by ironj679 »

Offline HBolte

• Supporting Member
Re: Flour? Pizza Steel? Knock your socks off Pizza at home?
« Reply #1 on: Yesterday at 01:28:15 PM »
For Neapolitan using 00 flour TXCraigs recipe is very good. You'll need 800F+ temps though.

« Last Edit: Today at 08:36:17 AM by HBolte »
Hans

Offline jsaras

• Supporting Member
« Reply #2 on: Yesterday at 06:27:19 PM »
00 flour is not the answer, especially for your baking setup.  Start with GM Better for Bread Flour or King Arthur Bread Flour.  I REALLY wish the moderators would create a sticky regarding 00 flour as it comes up constantly.