Author Topic: May have solved my Dough stretching problem  (Read 639 times)

Offline islandguy

May have solved my Dough stretching problem
« on: September 10, 2014, 07:11:43 PM »
I'm not an expert Pizza maker, having made only  about 100 pizzas in my WFO.  This past Month, I've had a lot of trouble stretching the dough out.  I've tried all kind of flour. KABF, KA AP, gold bond and a flour from Italy called "Farina 00".  I live in Mexico and have few choices of well known flours.  I've tried different recipes, etc
Today, it donged on me.   All my problems started when I got my new KA stand mixer.  Before that, I was hand mixing and never had a problem.
My KA came with two dough mixing tools.  A paddle and a dough hook.  I've been mixing with the paddle.
I saw a video that said the paddle was best and took half the time.
I'm now wondering if I'm over mixing the dough.
If a dough recipe calls for mixing on slow for 5 min, then rest for 10 min, etc
Is this with a dough hook or paddle?
I read somewhere if you over knead the dough, the gluten will set up and it will be hard to work.
Tomorrow, I'm going to try using just the hook.  If my dough is still hard to work, I'll go back to hand mixing and put my KA in the back room.

Offline mitchjg

• Supporting Member
Re: May have solved my Dough stretching problem
« Reply #1 on: September 10, 2014, 07:28:16 PM »
I always use both.  For the initial mix, which lasts maybe a minute or so, I use the paddle.  That gets everything mixed really fast and easy, with no dry spots in the flour, etc.  Then, I rest it a bit.  From then on, I only use the dough hook.

If using only one, I would only use the dough hook.

Maybe you got it!

- Mitch

Offline islandguy

« Reply #2 on: September 10, 2014, 08:59:40 PM »