Author Topic: Olive Oil vs Vegetable Oil  (Read 10363 times)

Offline rkoler

• I Love Pizza!
Olive Oil vs Vegetable Oil
« on: June 09, 2005, 05:03:48 PM »
I am new to this forum, and made my first cracker crust pizza today.  I have to admit.  I have been making pizza at home for over 30 years.  Even though this is my first try with this recipe, it is the best I have ever made.

My question is this.  I used Olive oil.  Does it make a difference?

Also, I had a lot of dough left over.  Does anyone re-use the left over. 

I divided the recipe by 3 and multiplied by 2 to get a 2/3 recipe, and made two more batches.  With one of them, I mixed in the used dough, and am letting rest again in sealed bowl.  I will see tomorrow what it is like.

Maybe with the 2/3 recipe, I will not have so much leftover.

Offline Steve

• Steve Zinski
  • Administrator
    • pizzamaking.com
Re: Olive Oil vs Vegetable Oil
« Reply #1 on: June 09, 2005, 06:04:59 PM »
Try using Crisco (vegetable shortening). You won't be disappointed!

Pizzamaking.com is a member-supported public resource. Click HERE to become a Supporting Member.

Offline Randy

• Supporting Member
  • Pizza, a great Lycopene source
« Reply #2 on: June 09, 2005, 07:21:10 PM »
If using Crisco try the zero grams trans fat in the green can.  Much better for you and no taste difference.

You are right about how good this pizza is.  I was equally surprised the first time I tried it.

Offline buzz

« Reply #3 on: June 10, 2005, 11:29:20 AM »
This is weird--when my Mom makes her excellent pies, she uses tons of Crisco, and I don't taste it. But when I make a yeasted dough using Crisco, I taste it in the final product. Has anyone else had this experience?

Offline Randy

• Supporting Member
« Reply #4 on: June 10, 2005, 11:50:26 AM »
No, not in DKM's thin crust and not in the 3 tablespoons I use in my Chicago recipe.

Randy

Offline scott r

• Supporting Member
  • I Love Pizzafreaks!
« Reply #5 on: June 10, 2005, 02:10:53 PM »