Author Topic: my neapolitan pizza  (Read 3430 times)

Offline Pizzella Pizzerria

• I Love Pizza!
my neapolitan pizza
« on: June 18, 2005, 11:34:20 PM »
I can't believe I've survived on the internet without finding this forum!!

I'm 19 and in college.  I've been making pizza for about 5 years, since my parents got me a restaurant size wooden pizza peel, aluminum peel, pizza stone, and cutter.  I started with a recipe from 'Pizza Any Way You Slice It' and ended up changing it completely so it is unique, after years of trial and error. ;)

Anyway, I was just posting to see how my recipe compared with all the others.  I am now using molino di borgo san dalmazzo 00 flour from my local italian market.  They used to have delverde, but this seems a lot softer and fresher.  I also use fresh yeast...i'm reading a lot about other alternatives but have no idea how they work or what they are.  I use Acqua Panna water and Sicilian sea salt.

Here is my recipe:

500g 00 flour
10 fl. oz. water
10g fresh yeast
2 tsp sea salt
2 tbsp extra virgin olive oil

I warm the water, dissolve the yeast, then add flour salt and oil.  I use the kitchenaid...it's so easy; let it kneed for about 10 mins, till smooth texture.  I then divide into balls and let rise for about an hour or two then either put into the fridge, freeze, or make. 

Here is a pic of a pie I made about a year ago, not my current recipe, but close, and still mine :D

(http://drycleancarpets.com/CIMG1171.JPG)

This pie has sun dried tomatoes and prosciutto di parma with fresh mozzarella, homemade sauce and basil. 

Thanks for having such a great forum!! 

-Joe ;D

Offline Pete-zza

• Lifetime Member
  • Global Moderator
  • Always learning
Re: my neapolitan pizza
« Reply #1 on: June 19, 2005, 01:04:20 AM »
Joe,

Welcome to the forum and thanks for sharing your recipe with us. You should be rightfully proud of your accomplishments at such a young age. Your pizza looks great.