Author Topic: hello and thanks  (Read 1611 times)

Offline burn8

• Supporting Member
  • I Love Pizza!
hello and thanks
« on: June 28, 2005, 12:27:16 PM »
I posted a hello in the general forum and had a request to stop by here to give some details on my chicago pizza.

Im really quite new to pizza making, and most of what I learned was from this site over the past few weeks.

For this pizza, I used buzz's dough reciped with a small twist. For the oil, I used 50% peanut oil (all i had) and 50% light olive oil. I cant detect any flavor from the peanut oil and i like the extra flavor I get from the olive oil. The crust is exactly what I was looking for so thanks a bunch buzz.

The sauce is a layer of 6 in 1 ground with some standard pizza spices mixed in and a can of Muir Glen diced tomatoes (drained) spread over the top. I would like to try some Escalon tomatoes but dont have access to them in my area (as far as I know).

With all of the great info on this site, I can now make a pizza at home that I think tops any Chicago style in my area.

Online Pete-zza

• Lifetime Member
  • Global Moderator
  • Always learning
Re: hello and thanks
« Reply #1 on: June 28, 2005, 12:47:54 PM »
burn8,

Welcome to the forum.

The 6-in-1s you used are from Escalon. A small number of the Escalon products are available at the retail level in some parts of the country, but all of their products can be ordered from Escalon itself, at the Escalon site at http://www.escalon.net. The closest products to the Escalon tomatoes are from Stanislaus, which services the foodservice industry. Unfortunately, the Stanislaus tomatoes cannot be ordered from their website. However, several of our members have found distributors and other places that carry them. They are usually in #10 cans, which weigh over 6 pounds.

Continued success with your pizzas. It looks like you are off to a great start.

Peter

Offline buzz

« Reply #2 on: June 29, 2005, 11:26:07 AM »