Author Topic: The Inevitable Happens  (Read 5187 times)

Offline Mo

Re: The Inevitable Happens
« Reply #20 on: March 03, 2010, 08:00:21 PM »

Yup, that is the first thing that popped into my head too, The H-D should have been all over that during there inspections! Now, if I was an inspector, I would have looked at the menu, and asked how they did Pasta if I did not see anything to cook it with at the location. But from other stuff I have seen take place in FL, it really doesn't surprise me either.
What has me wondering is why they did not get a single-burner stockpot stove or even a wal-mart special turkey fryer burner to use on-site. Anything other than cooking food for a restaurant at your home, then transporting it to the restaurant. Maybe you should talk to the county health inspector and ask to see their inspection notes on this place, Maybe this place got a bad reputation due to a food-borne illness outbreak (very possible) and you would need to work even harder to get past that with your customer base.
That info may be available online through the county website. You need to know, and you can use all this info for a bargaining chip too.

Old equipment;
Don't discount all equipment just because of it's age, I would be more concerned about refrigeration than the ovens or a mixer, Although I have never seen or heard of a "Hoover" mixer until now. So I have nothing to say either way about that.
I'll tell you something though, the Mixers that Hobart produced in the 1930's are 10X tougher and will outlast anything they currently produce! The spot I would like to get into has 2 Hobart exposed-motor 60Qt mixers included in the lease. Hobart quit producing that style because they were not generating service calls, they would only get to see a customer once, and never hear from them for service after the sale because those things were so tough.
if you oven or mixer goes down, you lose sales, if your coolers go down, you lose sales and your inventory!