Author Topic: Pizzeria Owners -- Help me out  (Read 3486 times)

Offline olsonmatt

• Pie Oh My
Pizzeria Owners -- Help me out
« on: October 12, 2011, 02:10:01 PM »
Hello all,

Thanks for looking at this post.  I'm seriously interested in opening a pizzeria, but obviously don't want to jump in without proper experience.  I'm a home pizza maker, and while I have several years of restaurant experience, I strongly feel that I need to work in a pizzeria.  I want to learn dough management, oven management, and everything else that goes into day to day business.

I've been trying to get a job at some of the better local pizzerias, but have met with hang-ups when I've been honest about my intentions, or at best, suspicious looks when the conversation hasn't gotten that far.  What do I do?  I don't want to work for someone under false pretenses.  Any suggestions or reccomendations are greatly appreciated.

Offline BrickStoneOven

• Lifetime Member
Re: Pizzeria Owners -- Help me out
« Reply #1 on: October 12, 2011, 02:46:59 PM »
What style are you looking to do? Are you planning to use deck ovens or a WFO?

I went into Stellas like 6 times before Mike hired me. I went once a week for a month, he said he didn't need anyone for now so I stopped(this was around Dec/Jan) going for a little. Then I went one last time in March and he hired me right there and made me work that day. He caught me off guard when he asked me if I wanted to start now. I just blurted out "yea I'll work now; idc". He just laughed and said go wash up. I was there at 8am, he made me work till close.

Stellas is kind of far from where you live so that would be a hassle. If there is somewhere near you that you really want to work at just keep going in and be annoying. There aren't really any places around here with WFO so getting experience with that is going to be hard unless you have your own.

Offline olsonmatt

• Pie Oh My
« Reply #2 on: October 12, 2011, 02:50:03 PM »