Author Topic: Thin culture after washing  (Read 790 times)

Offline JWhy

Thin culture after washing
« on: October 26, 2011, 01:45:22 PM »
Hello Everyone,

This is my second post as a new member so be kind...  ;D

I've been making home pizza for >20 years and recently got a bug to revamp my entire process including the use of natural starters and a hijacked electric oven (tricking the thermocouple, cleaning cycle, etc).  I'm an engineer by trade so of course, I must create a starter from scratch just to see if I can do it.  The oven is another matter (my wife and kids think I've good mad).

The first attempt to make a home grown culture wasn't so successfully.  I tried a (well known) method using a few store bought grapes.  The first two days were fine but on the third day, I came downstairs to my wife saying one of my basset hounds got sick by the back door (not unusual!).  She threw the carpet runner outside (thinking it was that) but it didn't cure the problem - of course.  I have to admit it was pretty bad.  Anyhow, my culture was on the counter brewing away and I removed the lid to feed it.  OMG - run away!  Even the dogs flipped out.  Down the drain and back to the drawing board.