Author Topic: Hi  (Read 362 times)

Offline suttonri

Hi
« on: November 19, 2011, 09:02:21 AM »
Hello from Baltimore. I'm just a simple home baker, trying to do the best I can with a 555 F oven. At this point I use Chris Bianco's dough recipe, stretched as thin as I can go. I sort of blind bake, just sauce and toppings for 3-4 minutes on top of preheated Saltillo tiles, then add cheese for another 5-6 minutes. Not too bad, but I'm sure it could be better. I'm joining here to search about how well baking between two closely-spaced Fibrament stones will work.

Thanks!
Rich

Offline scott123

Re: Hi
« Reply #1 on: November 19, 2011, 09:30:08 AM »
Hi Rich and welcome to the forum.

A 555 F oven is not that bad, but you're basically talking about the bottom of the barrel when it comes to baking stones. When it comes to baking stone materials, saltillo tiles have the worst conductivity and Fibrament has the second worst.  In order to do Chris Bianco's dough justice, you should shooting for the vicinity of his bake time- 3ish minutes. To do that at 555 F, you need one of the most conductive baking surfaces possible- 1/2" steel plate.

Your oven is electric, correct?

And, in order to do justice to pizza in general, lose the parbake.  What you get in ease of launching you pay for many times with quality.

Offline suttonri

« Reply #2 on: November 19, 2011, 10:05:36 AM »
Hi Rich and welcome to the forum.

A 555 F oven is not that bad, but you're basically talking about the bottom of the barrel when it comes to baking stones. When it comes to baking stone materials, saltillo tiles have the worst conductivity and Fibrament has the second worst.  In order to do Chris Bianco's dough justice, you should shooting for the vicinity of his bake time- 3ish minutes. To do that at 555 F, you need one of the most conductive baking surfaces possible- 1/2" steel plate.

Your oven is electric, correct?