Author Topic: Brooklyn Style Sicilian Sauce info ... cooked or uncooked???  (Read 606 times)

Offline Yankee Bill

• I Love Pizza!
Hi folks,

I'm just getting started on my pizza making venture, so please forgive me if this stuff is common knowledge. I've got a Blue Steel Pan and a Scale en-route and am wanting to try a Brooklyn Style Sicilian pie (similar to L & B Spumoni Gardens) for my Maiden Voyage when they arrive.

I've narrowed down a dough recipe that I'll start out trying. But I'm having a bit of a problem figuring out a sauce recipe. Whenever I search the site it seems I always get a ton of info on the dough recipes (and understandably so), however, not so much in the way of sauce recipes for this type of pie.

From what I can gather most seem to use only tomato's, salt and oregano, and / or EVOO. I've seen where a few people say they give their sauce a quick cook etc., but not any specifics on amounts and such.

I'm sure there's probably plenty of info on the subject somewhere here that I can't find due to my lack of computer skills. Anyway, if anyone has any info or recipes on these style sauces that they'd care to share it would be greatly appreciated.

FWIW, I have a few cans of Cento Certified Whole Peeled SM's on hand that I was going to use (but not opposed to trying another brand). Also, the pan I have ordered is a Paderno World Cuisine Blue Steel 19 5/8 X 13 3/4. And the dough recipe I'm going to try has a TF = 0.16.

Appreciate any help you may have to offer.

Thanks,
YB

« Last Edit: July 22, 2014, 03:23:20 PM by Yankee Bill »

Offline jeffereynelson

Re: Brooklyn Style Sicilian Sauce info ... cooked or uncooked???
« Reply #1 on: July 22, 2014, 03:22:59 PM »
Most people here don't try to make elaborate sauces for their pizzas like you might see with a spaghetti sauce. It's more about just the tomatoes. Just try those centos you have, crush them up, add a little salt to your liking and you should be good.