Author Topic: Provel Cheese aka St louis Style  (Read 28024 times)

Offline Texaspizzaman

• I Love Pizza!
Provel Cheese aka St louis Style
« on: August 20, 2005, 05:36:25 PM »
This is my first post here, I love Pizza, its my wife and I fav food.  She is from Chicago and I am from St. Louis
I cant believe there is no St. louis style catagory here ;)    I have been residing in Texas for 15 years now and miss St louis style almost every day.  For those of you who dont know, St. louis style revolves around a thin craker crust with a cheese called provel.  Provel was invented in St. louis and most of the italian places (the good ones) sub it for mozzerella in their dishes.  The cheese+crust is what makes the pizza unique.  The cheese is a processed mixture with astounding thermal properties(burns the crap out of your mouth a full 15 minutes out of the oven)  has anyone tried making a provel substitue?   The real stuff consists of white cheddar, provelone, and swiss.  I have come up with a pretty good substitute that gets me by until I go back home.  I use 1 Cup White Cheddar, 1.25 Cups Provelone, and .25 cup Swiss.  All are fancy shredded and mixed well together.  Provel is a very buttery smooth cheese, that tastes great with thin sauces and dried herbs sprinkled on top ( Like IMO'S)  Thanks for a great fourm, I am really going to like it here!

Offline Snowman

• Please enter a location in your profile, please?
Re: Provel Cheese aka St louis Style
« Reply #1 on: August 21, 2005, 11:37:19 AM »
I know exactly what the poster above is referring to.  However, I have a DISTINCTLY different view of St. Louis style pizza.  I actually had to open the box from Imo's the first time I ordered from them to make sure there was anything in it.  I am not a fan of their pizza.  It's commonly referred to (by non-native St. Louisans) as "snot on a cracker".  The crust is super-thin, the sauce is more of a ketchup base (or tastes like it) and provel is some nasty cheese.