Author Topic: new to the world of Pizza making  (Read 243 times)

Offline doughboy2

new to the world of Pizza making
« on: February 13, 2012, 08:59:29 AM »
I have just recently discovered the pleasures of the world of Pizza making. I have been developing a pizza dough recipe for a few months now and still in the tweaking stages of getting it where I am satisfied with flavor and texture. I am going to post my recipe in hopes of collecting insight on how it can be improved on. I look forward on seeing inputs from the pizza loving experts and all on this recipes. Below is my version of a pizza dough.

Pizza Dough Recipe
Makes 1 large or 2 small thin crust pizzas

2 cups of Bread or All Purpose Flour (I like the texture using Bread flour)
1 Teaspoon of Baking Powder use ½ teaspoon for thinner crust
1 Teaspoon of salt
½ teaspoon Onion Powder
1 level teaspoon Garlic Powder (Do not use any more for it will kill the yeast and dough will not raise)
3 Tablespoons of Extra Virgin Olive Oil
2 Teaspoons of corn sugar or white sugar (you can replace with honey to change the flavor of the dough)
¾ Cup Spring water at room temperature (spring water use is important for the proper mineral content and softness of dough) I used my local Market Basket brand spring water 2 gallons for a dollar.
1 package of Fleischmann’s Active Dry Yeast
1 tablespoon of medium or coarse grind corn meal