Author Topic: That yummy greasy NY pizza  (Read 2042 times)

Offline Doctor_G

• I Love Pizza!
That yummy greasy NY pizza
« on: August 27, 2005, 01:06:01 PM »
New member here. I lived 13 yrs on Long Island, and now reside in Connecticut...so I know a good deal about what a NY style pizza should look and taste like. I've been frequenting this site for the last 4 months or so, and have been soaking in all the good recipes, and ideas this forum offers. I've made my fair-share of home-made pizza through the years, but since I found this place...my pizza making skills have reached new levels...THANKS.

On to the title of my thread...

In all my travels in the pizza world of NY, I've found that the majority of the Mom n Pop shops...make decent pies. Of course like anything else in life, some are better than others. The one thing I've been searching for within this site and some others I've found on the net, are postings reffering to the amount of olive oil that should be added to a NY Style Pizza. So far I havn't found any refferences on this subject. To make this a little clearer, what I'm trying to get at...what is the correct amount of oil to use in the sauce (topping portion) of the pizza? Most of the sauce recipes out there call for olive oil in the sauce...this we all know. I always add two and sometimes 3 tbs of olive oil to my sauce. But even when I add the higher amount of oil to the sauce...the final product doesn't have that greasy, but yummy taste you find out there at a good Mom N Pop shop in NYC. You know...when you fold that delectible slice in half and the grease starts to drip everywhere. Do the pizza shop guys add more oil to their sauce, or do they add some oil straight from the bottle after they sauce their pie, before topping it with cheese or maybe on top of the cheese? I don't want to get carried away by using too much oil...but I do like my pizza on the greasy...but still tasty side. Any help out there would be appreciated.

Offline PizzaBrewer