Author Topic: Pizza dough Trial and error  (Read 4049 times)

Offline pooadrid

Pizza dough Trial and error
« on: March 10, 2012, 04:20:13 AM »
Hello, I work in a restaurant where we make roughly around 50 pound bags of flour worth of pizza dough.
And using a simple recipe that's calls for water,salt,sugar ,oil and yeast. We have cut that to a 25 pound batch and also a 12.5 pound batch. And another recipe for 40 cups of flour batch.

Originally the recipe calls for "warm" water. Well we do about 110-120 degree water. With a 50 pound bag we do 110 and the dough proofs amazingl well no matter the time of day.
However with the 25 pound batch. We've done that at two different times and recieved two different results. Including doing the same batch the next day and receiving the opposite. We do a morning batch and a night batch and sometimes a mid day batch.

Results are rubbery dense dough.
Dry rough dough.
And then of course good easy stretch dough.
And sometimes horribly unusually dry dough. (tough to ball up)

Is there anything we can do try or some technique we can use to improve consistency?

Offline TomN

• Supporting Member
Re: Pizza dough Trial and error
« Reply #1 on: March 11, 2012, 01:37:31 PM »
What kind of flour are you using? Pendleton POWER flour, Pendleton MONDAKO, Gold Medal All Trumps flour, etc... ???  This information will allow everyone to give you some feedback.

Also, what is your current recipe?? How much water are you adding?  Do you keep a log of measurements so that when it turns out good, you have a record of what you did that works the best for you?