Author Topic: Screen Tips?  (Read 3535 times)

Offline TimEggers

• Homemade pizza and home roasted coffee! YUM!
    • Pan Roasting Coffee
Screen Tips?
« on: August 30, 2005, 02:23:39 PM »
I just ordered my first 2 pizza screens. I got American Metalcraft 18' round screens. I got them this large so I would have plenty of room for my dough. My pizzas are usually anywhere from 10-14 sometimes 16 inches across (I have much to learn in ways of hand forming)!

I have never used screens before so is there anything I should know? Any tips? Cleaning, general care or baking tips?

Thank you!

Offline Pete-zza

• Lifetime Member
  • Global Moderator
  • Always learning
Re: Screen Tips?
« Reply #1 on: August 30, 2005, 04:55:11 PM »
Tim,

When I first got my screens, I just washed them, let them dry, and sprayed a bit of oil spray over them for the first use. From what I recall, I didn't have to to anything more after that. What many pizza operators do is just run their screen through their conveyor ovens several times, or "bake" them in their deck ovens for a while, until they are just about black, with that "seasoned" look.

One of the things you may want to keep in mind is not to put a dough that is clearly soft and wet on the screen. Or let a dough set on the screen too long before dressing. In both cases, the dough might stick to the screen and sink into the holes in the screen and become stuck to it even more during baking. You usually can dislodge it by using a metal peel, but that doesn't always work. You should also have everything you plan to use on the pizza on hand before dressing it. And work fast. One of the advantages of using screens is that you don't have to heat the oven as much as when you use stones or tiles that require a long preheat at high oven temperatures (e.g., up to an hour or more). This is a godsend in the hot summer months. You will need maybe 10-15 minutes of preheat and the pizza will be in and out of the oven about 7-10 minutes later.

Peter