Author Topic: SAUCE, AGAIN  (Read 2450 times)

Offline Y-TOWN

SAUCE, AGAIN
« on: August 30, 2005, 06:04:31 PM »
I have been making pizza for over 20 years. Thanks to this forum my dough is as good as it comes, now. I'm still looking for a decent sauce recipe. I've had little luck with my own tries.

Does someone out there have a really good sauce recipe they would be willing to share??

Thanks

Richard

Offline TimEggers

• Homemade pizza and home roasted coffee! YUM!
    • Pan Roasting Coffee
Re: SAUCE, AGAIN
« Reply #1 on: August 31, 2005, 11:11:51 AM »
3 10 3/4-ounce can of tomato puree (I really like Hunt's)
3-tablespoons white sugar (I like pure cane sugar)
1-teaspoon salt
1-teaspoon ground oregano
1/2-teaspoon basil
1/2-teaspoon ground thyme
1/2-teaspoon garlic powder
3/4-cup water
3-teaspoon olive oil
1/2 teaspoon lemon juice

1. Combine ingredients in a small saucepan over medium heat. Bring to a boil.
2. Reduce heat and simmer for 15 to 20 minutes.
Makes just over 26-ounces (a jar).

Here is the recipe that I have been using.  It's quite good but is best if you make the sauce, put it in a jar (I use and old cleaned out Bertolli spaghetti sauce jar) and put it in the refrigerator for a day or two.  It can be used anytime though but I find the flavor gets better after a day or so in the fridge so make plenty up and keep it!  It'll be at it's best later towards the end of the jar!
« Last Edit: August 31, 2005, 11:13:33 AM by TimEggers »

Offline Steeb

« Reply #2 on: August 31, 2005, 11:27:13 AM »
Does tomato paste work, or does it have to be puree? In my local store, the only brand of puree is Progresso. The others have tomato paste and tomato sauce, but no puree...

Offline GioTurano

« Reply #3 on: August 31, 2005, 12:27:40 PM »
Does tomato paste work, or does it have to be puree? In my local store, the only brand of puree is Progresso. The others have tomato paste and tomato sauce, but no puree...